Dakota Electric celebrates 75 years of serving its members

Five directors elected at annual meeting

Dakota Electric President and CEO Greg Miller discussed the cooperative’s strong commitment over the past 75 years to providing safe, reliability and affordable electricity. Photo submitted

Dakota Electric Association’s 75-year history was celebrated at the Farmington-based cooperative’s annual meeting April 12 when four incumbent directors and one new director were elected.

The meeting held in St. Michael’s Church social hall saw the re-election of Jerry Pittman, District 1; Clay Van De Bogart, District 2; Ken Danner, District 3, and Judy Kimmes, District 4, to three-year terms. An open seat in District 1 (one-year term), due to the retirement of longtime board member Carl Potter, was filled by David Jones of Lakeville.

Greg Miller, the cooperative’s president and CEO, took a look back into history as he compared the work of early cooperative employees and board members to the cooperative’s current efforts to provide the membership with reliable electricity.

Five directors won elections at this year’s Dakota Electric Association annual meeting (from left): David Jones, Judy Kimmes Jerry Pittman, Clay Van De Bogart. Not pictured: Ken Danner. Photo submitted

“Today’s reliance on electricity makes us keenly focused on reliability,” Miller said. He went on to say that because of Dakota Electric’s outstanding reliability, the national association used “Dakota Electric as a case study from which other cooperatives could learn about reliability.”

Miller also discussed the growth of the system over the years, technology used to improve services and the cooperative’s goal to provide “safe and reliable electricity, great service, and all at the lowest possible cost.”

The membership heard from Larry Schmid, vice president and CFO at Great River Energy, Dakota Electric’s wholesale power supplier. Schmid discussed Great River Energy’s performance measures and the company’s challenges to keep cost increases to a minimum.

Board chair Jim Sheldon thanked the board and employees for their hard work serving Dakota Electric’s members and introduced a short video detailing the cooperative’s history (available at www.dakotaelectric.com). A treasurer’s report and an update on Dakota Electric’s subsidiary business, Energy Alternatives were given at the meeting.

As a cooperative owned by those it serves, Dakota Electric holds director elections and an annual meeting each year.

Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy partner, provides electricity to more than 100,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties.