District 196 Legislative Advisory Council members appointed

The first members of the new District 196 Legislative Advisory Council were appointed by the School Board at its Nov. 19 regular meeting.

Citizen members are Valerie Dosland of Eagan, Heidi Holste of Rosemount, Cisa Keller of Apple Valley, Charles McCready of Apple Valley and Kevin Sampers of Eagan. They will serve two-year terms and may apply to serve consecutive terms.

Seven of the eight district advisory council and committee members were also appointed to the LAC: Gary Krueger of the Budget Advisory Council; Retno Saridewi-Wong of the Curriculum and Instruction Advisory Council; Khia Brown of the Community Education Advisory Council; Jennifer Becker of the Early Childhood Family Services Advisory Council; Stacy Wells, representing integration/equity and the district’s Community Collaboration Council; Derek Appleyard of Project Explore; and Jennie Bennett of the Special Education Advisory Council.

A representative from the district’s Native American Parent Advisory Committee will be appointed by the School Board at its Dec. 10 regular meeting.

The first meeting of the LAC is scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 12, 6 to 7:30 p.m., at the District Office in Rosemount. Members of the public are welcome to attend. For more information about the LAC, call district communications director Tony Taschner at (651) 423-7775.