MVTA salutes outgoing board members

The Minnesota Valley Transit Authority saluted three outgoing members of its board of directors: Will Branning, Wally Lyslo and Joe Zanmiller.

Branning served as the representative from Dakota County since 1997 and previously served as the Apple Valley representative.

Lyslo joined the MVTA board in 2000, serving as the “at-large” commissioner or alternate during that time. The “at-large” position was established to create equity for the cities of Apple Valley, Burnsville and Eagan when funding for transit came from the property tax. In 2012, the board adopted an amended Joint Powers Agreement that added Dakota and Scott counties to the board as “parties” and eliminated the “at-large” position.

Zanmiller was appointed to the board in 2011 as the “at-large” alternate selected by the city of Rosemount. He is a regular rider of MVTA Route 478 that serves Rosemount.

Other members of the board include: Eagan Council Member Gary Hansen (chair), Rosemount Mayor William Droste (vice chair), Savage Council Member Jane Victorey (secretary-treasurer), Apple Valley Council  Member Clint Hooppaw, Burnsville Council Member Dan Kealey; and Scott County Commissioner Jon Ulrich. Dakota County will designate a new commissioner to the MVTA board at its organizational meeting in January.

The MVTA is the public transportation provider for the businesses and residents of Apple Valley, Burnsville, Eagan, Rosemount and Savage, and provides service to the Lakeville Cedar Park & Ride.