Divided 191 board elects Sweep chair

A divided District 191 School Board has elected Sandra Sweep its top officer for 2013.

Sweep was elected chair of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage board on a 4-3 vote Jan. 17.

Voting for Sweep were board members Paula Teiken, who nominated her, Sweep herself, Jim Schmid and Robert VandenBoom.

Voting “no” were Ron Hill, the 2012 chair, Dan Luth and DeeDee Currier.

While not typical for the  board, there have been divided votes for a single chair nominee. In addition to the Jan. 17 vote, the 2009 vote for chair found board members divided over nominee Susan Martin, who was elected 4-3.

Teiken was absent from the board’s annual organization meeting on Jan. 10, when the other six members deadlocked between Sweep and Schmid.

A week later, Sweep was the only nominee. Currier had nominated Schmid on Jan. 10, after Schmid had nominated Sweep.

Board members voted without debate or comment.

Sweep, of Burnsville, was first elected to the board in 2008 and was re-elected in November. She served as vice chair in 2012.

Also on Jan. 17 the  board unanimously elected VandenBoom as clerk, another position that produced a deadlocked vote Jan. 10, between nominees VandenBoom and Currier.

On Jan. 17, Teiken nominated VandenBoom and Hill nominated Currier, as he had the previous week.

But Currier removed herself from consideration after Hill’s Jan. 17 nomination.