MVTA board elects officers

The Minnesota Valley Transit Authority board of directors elected officers for 2013 at its organizational meeting on Jan. 30.

Gary Hansen, Eagan City Council member, was re-elected chair. Hansen also serves as chair of the Suburban Transit Authority, a group of suburban transit providers including MVTA, SouthWest Transit, Plymouth Metrolink, Maple Grove Transit and Prior Lake Laker Lines/Shakopee Transit (operating jointly as the BlueXpress).

Clint Hooppaw, Apple Valley City Council member, was elected vice chair; Jane Victorey, Savage City Council member, was re-elected secretary/treasurer.

Other members of the board include Dakota County Commissioner Liz Workman, Burnsville City Council Member Dan Kealey, Rosemount Mayor William Droste, and Scott County Commissioner Jon Ulrich.

The MVTA board also adopted its meeting calendar for 2013. Meetings will take place at 4:30 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month at the Burnsville Bus Garage, 11550 Rupp Drive, Burnsville, with the following exceptions: fifth Wednesday, Jan. 30; fifth Wednesday, July 31; and fifth Wednesday, Oct. 30. The Feb. 27 meeting will be followed by the Driver of the Year Award Banquet and will be at Rascal’s in Apple Valley. There will be a combined November/December meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 11.

Board agendas and packets are posted on the MVTA website at