District 196 National Merit finalists named

Eleven of the 15 District 196 seniors named semifinalists in the 2012-13 National Merit Scholarship Program last fall have been selected finalists and are eligible to compete for the more than 8,300 merit scholarships totaling more than $34 million which will be awarded this spring.

The finalists are Mitchell Dawson of Apple Valley High School; Justin Dietz, Madison Janvrin, Paulina Marell, Eleanor Schriner, Sylesh Volla, Kevin Wei and Aliya Zhdanov of Eagan High School; Audrey Gunn and Lauren Schaffran of Eastview High School; and Paul Wollersheim of Rosemount High School.