District 196 retirees and Outstanding Service Award recipients recognized

Six District 196 employees were recognized for their outstanding service at this year’s Partners in Education banquet held April 18 at Eagan High School.

Eighty-six district employees who have retired within the last year or will retire at the end of this school year were also recognized at the banquet, which is paid for by employee bargaining groups and attendees. Those 86 employees have a combined 1,965 years of service in District 196.

The District 196 Outstanding Service Award recipients for 2012-13 are Maureen Kelly-Carroll, special education lead teacher, Rosemount High School; Mike Schlink, social studies teacher, Dakota Hills Middle School; Jean Unzicker, social studies and special education teacher, School of Environmental Studies; Paul Van Zuilen, building chief, Glacier Hills Elementary School of Arts and Science; Peggy Werness, math teacher, Scott Highlands Middle School, and Judy Youngberg, special education paraprofessional, Highland Elementary School.

Outstanding Service Award recipients are nominated by colleagues and selected by a committee made up of employees representing different employee groups.