District 196 students win video awards

District 196 students won 11 of the 19 production awards presented at this year’s video competition for high school students sponsored by the Upper Midwest Emmy Chapter/Foundation. The awards ceremony was held April 14 at the Mall of America.

Students from Apple Valley High School brought home eight Crystal Pillars, Rosemount High School’s Mike Markes was a double award winner in the director and editor categories, and Eagan High School’s Luke Moe took first in the animation/graphics/special effects category.

Apple Valley won awards for newscast, news story-serious, news story-light (two awards), sports story, live sports event, talent (Brityn Thompson) and writing (Maddi Engel).