Schmid elected board chair in District 191

Jim Schmid was elected the 2014 chair of the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage District 191 School Board Jan. 9.

He was elected unanimously by the seven-member board at its annual organization meeting.

Schmid, a Burnsville resident elected to the board in 2010, had been serving as vice chair. His board term expires at the end of this year.

He replaces the 2013 chair, Sandy Sweep, whose leadership was praised by fellow Board Member Ron Hill.

Sweep “has acted as the face of our school district” during a year when the board hired a new superintendent, Joe Gothard, Hill said.

The board elected Bob VandenBoom vice chair, DeeDee Currier clerk and Abigail Alt treasurer.

Board members voted to set their monthly salaries at $500,  which they’ve been since January 2008, with a traditional extra $50 monthly stipend for the chair because of added duties of the office.

Student performance committee

In other action, the board voted to add a standing board committee called the Student Performance and Achievement Committee.

Gothard recommended forming the committee, whose three chair-appointed members will work with Assistant Superintendent Cindy Amoroso and the district’s Teaching and Learning Team on curriculum, instruction and testing issues. The committee will meet monthly.

“This really gets at the nuts and bolts of what we’re all about,” Hill said.