Nine District 196 students advance to debate finals

Nine of the 19 District 196 high school students who qualified to compete at this year’s state debate tournament Jan. 17-18 at the University of Minnesota advanced to the final rounds of competition.

In public forum debate, the team of Ryan Mather and Mikhil Venkatasubramanian of Eastview High School finished state runners-up to a team from Maple Grove High School. Three other two-person teams from the district advanced to the final rounds in public forum debate. Anum Ahmed and Anant Naik of Eastview made it to the semifinal round, and the quarterfinal round included Mollie Clark and Alexandra Rosati of Eagan High School, and Andrea Aguilar and Margo Sanders of Apple Valley High School.

Ryan Lowder of Eagan advanced to the semifinal round in Lincoln-Douglas debate. No District 196 students advanced to the final rounds in policy debate. This was the 113th annual state debate tournament, the longest running event of the Minnesota State High School League.