Area teachers nominated for Teacher of the Year

Six area teachers are among the 128 candidates nominated for the 2014 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Award.

They are Stephanie Cin and Steven Orth, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage; Kim Jirik and Jill Mitzo, Lakeville; and Michelle Betts and Karen Pachan, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan.

The 2014 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 4, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Bloomington – Minneapolis South in Bloomington. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists.