Filing period opens for Rosemount City Council

Council, board positions in Farmington open for filing July 29-Aug. 12

With the terms of Rosemount’s mayor and two of its City Council members expiring at the end of the year, the candidate filing period opened May 20 for those offices that will be on the Nov. 4 ballot.

The four-year terms of Council Members Mark DeBettignies and Kim Shoe-Corrigan expire at the end of the year, along with Mayor Bill Droste’s two-year term.

Droste, Shoe-Corrigan and DeBettignies were all first elected in 2002.

Droste, who has lived in Rosemount since 1989, is a Relator with Keller Williams Preferred Realty. Previously, he was an operations manager and senior market analyst with Qwest Communications.

He served on the Rosemount Planning Commission prior to being elected mayor.

He has been a member of the Minnesota Valley Transit Authority Board, Minnesota Statewide Emergency Communications Board, Regional Council of Mayors and many more regional boards.

DeBettignies, who has lived in Rosemount since 1984, is a senior business manager at Acosta Sales and Marketing – a supplier of natural, organic, specialty and ethnic foods.

He is a past member of the Rosemount Planning Commission and has served on the County Road 42 Corridor Committee and the Dakota County-Rosemount Library Site Selection Committee.

He is chairman of the County Road 42/Highway 52 Land Use Committee.

Shoe-Corrigan, who has lived in Rosemount since 1989, is a social studies teacher at Eagan High School.

She is a member of the University of Minnesota Task Force and has been a member of the Downtown Redevelopment Committee, Dakota County-Rosemount Joint Library Site Selection Committee and Library Design Task Force.

If more than four candidates file for City Council and more than two for mayor, a primary will be held Aug. 12 to reduce the field to four and two, respectively.

Candidates must:

• Be eligible to vote in Minnesota.

• Not file for the same or any other office at the upcoming primary or general election.

• On assuming office, be 21 years of age or more.

• Have maintained residence in the district for at least 30 days before the general election.

Affidavits of candidacy can be filled out from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on regular business days at Rosemount City Hall, 2875 145th St. W. The deadline is at 5 p.m. Tuesday, June 3.

There is a $5 filing fee.

Since there will be no primary for Farmington City Council and Farmington Area School Board, the filing period will open July 29 and close Aug. 12.

The three incumbents on the Farmington School Board announced on Monday their intentions to seek re-election (see related stories).

The four-year, at-large terms of School Board Members Tera Lee, Melissa Sauser and Brian Treakle expire Dec. 31, 2014.

The four-year terms of Council Members Christy Jo Fogarty and Jason Bartholomay are set to expire at the end of the year.

More information about filing for Farmington School Board can be obtained by calling the district office at 651-463-5000.

For more information about filing for Farmington City Council, contact Cindy Muller at 651-280-6803 or [email protected].