Three local students win Triple A region award

Three local students were region winners in the Minnesota State High School League’s Triple “A” Award program.

Harmony Zweber-Langer, of Lakeville South, was the winner in Region 1AA, and Chun-Kit Chow, of Burnsville and Lauren Markowski, of Eagan were the winners in Region 3AA.

They were finalists for the state award, which was given by MSHSL in partnership with AAA Minneapolis and Fairview Sports and Orthopedic Care, and were honored during ceremonies at the Boys’ State Basketball Tournament.

Triple “A” is a recognition program the League has sponsored since 1988. The award goes to students who have a 3.0 or higher grade point average and who participate in athletic and fine arts activities.

Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process that involves the League’s member schools and its 16 administrative regions.

“We are honored to salute the thousands of high school students who participate in high school activities and excel in the classroom,” says Dave Stead, executive director of the League. “Close to 14,000 students, from every corner of the state, have been recognized through this award program over the past 29 years.”

Jesse Simon, AAA Minneapolis senior manager of marketing and communications said: “AAA Minneapolis is proud to work with the Minnesota State High School League. Supporting exemplary students will have an impact on our community not just today or next school year, but for years to come.”

Of the 32 students vying for the Triple “A” Award, four —  a girl and a boy from both a Class A and Class AA school — were selected to receive a four-year $1,000 scholarships.

The winners are: Anja Maijala of Cloquet High School, Kiera Olson of Fillmore Central High School, Carter Peterson of Underwood High School and Eric Wilson of Benilde-St. Margaret’s.